Workflow Designer Interface

Many of the operations described in this topic can be performed using keyboard shortcuts.

Overview

 

The main parts of Workflow Designer's user interface are as follows:

 

Sidebar: The sidebar has the following options:

  • File: Click File to open the File menu. See File Menu for information.

  • Info: Click Info to open the Info panel. The Info panel allows you to do the following:

    • Change Title: Change the workflow's title. This changes the title of the workflow's item in ArcGIS.

    • Change Description: Change the workflow's description. This changes the description of the workflow's item in ArcGIS.

    • View URL: View and copy the workflow's URL. This is the URL of the workflow's item in ArcGIS. A workflow does not have an item and a URL until it has been saved.

    • Open Item: Open the workflow's item in ArcGIS.

    • Configure Type: In on-premises Workflow, configure the type of workflow—client workflow or server workflow. Client workflows run in a host app, like Geocortex Web or Web AppBuilder for ArcGIS. Server workflows run on Workflow Server.

    • Run in Sandbox: Run the workflow in the Sandbox, Workflow Designer's built-in test environment.

      To run a workflow in the Sandbox, click Info | Run in Sandbox, select the environment, configure the Sandbox settings, and then click Run Workflow.

    • Configure Deployment: Configure deployment settings for the workflow:

      • the types of client apps that will host the workflow, if it is a client workflow

      • whether the workflow needs to be able to run when the device is offline

      See Configure Deployment Settings for information.

    • Configure Translations: Configure translations for the workflow. See Translate Workflows for information.

  • Help: Get help with Geocortex Workflow.

  • User: Click the user icon User icon to sign in or out of Workflow Designer.

  • Switch: Click the switch icon Switch apps to switch to the designer for a different Geocortex product. This feature is available in cloud Workflow only.

Toolbox: The Toolbox contains activities that you can use to build workflows. To add an activity to a workflow, drag the activity from the Toolbox to the design surface and connect it to the flowchart.

By default, the Toolbox shows every activity, both built-in and custom activities. When you configure the workflow's deployment settings, the Toolbox filters the list to only show activities that work in your chosen environments.

Use the Toolbox's Filter function to find a particular activity. See Search the Toolbox for an Activity for information.

Tabs: Every workflow in Designer is on its own tab. Click the New tab icon to open a new tab with a blank workflow.

A workflow's tab shows the workflow's title. Beside the title is an icon—either or —that you can click to close the workflow and its tab. The circle icon indicates that there are unsaved changes.

Below the workflow's title are breadcrumbs that show your current depth within the workflow. Use the breadcrumbs to navigate up one or morel levels.

Breadcrumbs to navigate the workflow's levels

Design Surface: The design surface is where you design workflows. To design a workflow, drag activities from the Toolbox to the design surface, connect them into a flowchart, and configure their properties.

The design surface has tools to zoom in , zoom out , undo the last change to the flowchart, and redo the last change that you undid using the undo tool.

Properties Panel: The Properties panel shows the properties for the currently selected activity. Click an activity on the design surface to select it and view its properties.

All activities have ID, Display Name, and Description properties. Most activities also have inputs (properties whose values you configure for the workflow to operate on) and outputs (properties that are given a value by the activity when it runs). The inputs and outputs for a particular activity are described on the page for that activity in the About the Activity Reference.

Navigator: The Navigator provides a quick way to navigate workflows. See Navigator for information.

Problems: Click Problems to open the Validation panel. The Validation panel lists the errors and warnings for all open workflows. Click an error or warning to navigate the flowchart to the activity causing the problem.

File Menu

To open the File menu, click File in the sidebar. The File menu has the following options: New, Open, Delete, Open by URL, Save, Save As, Import, and Export.

File | New

The New option creates a new workflow based on a template. To create a workflow, click File | New, select a template, and click Create or press Enter. Alternatively, double-click the template. The new workflow is a copy of the template. You can save the workflow under any title you want.

To choose a template:

As an alternative to using a template, you can base a workflow on an existing workflow by saving the existing workflow under a new title.

File | Open

The Open option opens an existing workflow. To open an existing workflow, click File | Open, select the workflow, and then click Open or press Enter. Alternatively, double-click the workflow. The workflow opens on a new tab in Designer.

You can open a workflow's item in ArcGIS from the Open panel: Click the workflow's action menu and select the option to open it in ArcGIS.

The Open panel has Search, Filter, and Sort functions to help you find a workflow:

File | Delete

The Delete option deletes the selected workflow and its ArcGIS item. To delete a workflow, click File | Delete, find the workflow, select it, and then click Delete or press Enter. Alternatively, double-click the workflow. You will be prompted to confirm.

The Delete panel has Search and Sort functions to help you find a workflow:

File | Open by URL

The Open by URL option opens the workflow with the specified URL. To open a workflow by URL, you must have permission to access the workflow.

The Open by URL option provides an easy way to share workflows between Workflow authors in the same organization. See Share Workflows by URL for information.

File | Save

The Save option saves the current workflow under its existing title. If the workflow has not been saved before, clicking File | Save performs a Save As operation.

File | Save As

The Save As option saves the current workflow under the title you enter and creates an item for the workflow in ArcGIS with that same title. The URL of the new item is used as the workflow's URL. The URL appears on the Info panel in Workflow Designer.

File | Import

The Import option imports a previously exported workflow into Workflow Designer. For more information, see Import and Export Workflows.

File | Export

The Export option exports the current workflow in JSON format. This is a convenient format for sharing workflows with other Workflow authors in your organization. For more information, see Import and Export Workflows.

Navigator

To open the Navigator, click Navigator at the bottom of Workflow Designer.

Location of the button to open and close the Navigator

The Navigator shows the hierarchical structure of a workflow. Unlike the design surface, which only shows one level of the workflow at a time, the Navigator shows all the activities in the workflow and its subworkflows, in one place. This allows you to review the flow of a workflow without having to jump between levels.

Navigator, showing an activity with a description, an activity with an ID, and a subworkflow that can be collapsed and expanded

You can click any activity in the Navigator to navigate the flowchart to the activity. The activity that you clicked is automatically centered and selected to show its properties.

Click an activity in the Navigator () to navigate to the activity's (sub)workflow () and select the activity ()

The Navigator is also used to display the results of activity searches initiated from an activity's Actions menu:

Actions menu search options

© 2020 VertiGIS North America Ltd. All Rights Reserved.

Documentation Version 5.19