Share Reports

Sharing reports allows other people to access the reports. There are two levels of sharing:

Allow End Users to Run Reports

To allow an end user to run a report, you must share both the host application and the report with the user. In some Web AppBuilder in Portal for ArcGIS scenarios, you must also share the Geocortex Reporting widget that runs the report.

Sharing a report and its host application with Everyone (public) or Organization provides sufficient privileges to run the report. If you want to create an ArcGIS group for users who are allowed to run reports, creating the group using a Publisher or User account provides sufficient privileges. If you create the group using an Administrator account, make sure you set What items in the group can its members update? to Only their own items. For more information on creating groups, refer to the Esri documentation for the version of ArcGIS you are using: Portal for ArcGIS 10.6, Portal for ArcGIS 10.5, or ArcGIS Online. For instructions on sharing ArcGIS items, see Share an ArcGIS Item.

This topic assumes that you have already created any groups you want and shared the host application with the desired set of users. You can now share the report item with all of the host application's users or a subset of the users.

The way that you allow users to run a report depends on the type of host application:

Share Reports Hosted by a Web AppBuilder in Portal for ArcGIS App

To allow users to run a report that is hosted by a Web AppBuilder in Portal for ArcGIS app, you must share the host app and the report with the users. In one scenario, you must also share the widget that runs the report.

You share reports and widgets the same way that you share apps—by sharing their ArcGIS items. The item is created by Geocortex Reporting the first time you save the report. The widget item is created when you register the widget.

To allow users to run a report hosted by a Web AppBuilder in Portal for ArcGIS app:

The steps that you take to allow users to run a report depend on whether the host app is secured. Follow the instructions that apply to you:

Share Reports Hosted by a Web AppBuilder (Developer Edition) App

When you use a Web AppBuilder (Developer Edition) app to host a report, the host app is deployed to your website. You use the website's security to manage access to the app.

In this scenario, the widget is installed in Web AppBuilder. There is no widget item in ArcGIS. Any user who has access to the app also has access to the widget.

To allow users to run a report hosted by a Web AppBuilder (Developer Edition) app:

The steps that you take to allow users to run a report depend on whether the host app is secured. Follow the instructions that apply to you:

Share Reports Hosted by a Geocortex HTML5 Viewer

When you use a Geocortex HTML5 viewer to host a report, the site that the viewer belongs to can be secured using Geocortex Essentials security. You use Geocortex Essentials security to manage access to the viewer.

Geocortex Essentials security controls which users see the report in the viewer—it does not secure the report. The report is secured by ArcGIS security.

To allow users to run a report hosted by a Geocortex HTML5 viewer:

The steps that you take to allow users to run a report depend on whether the site is secured. Follow the steps that apply to you:

Share an ArcGIS Item

To share an ArcGIS item:

  1. Sign in to your ArcGIS account, open your content, and then click the item's title to open the item.

    You can open a report item from Report Designer. Click Info to open the report's Info panel and then click the View link.

  2. Click Share.

    Share an ArcGIS item

  3. Select the checkboxes for the users that you want to share the item with.

  4. Click OK.

Allow Authors to Modify Reports

Within an organization, there is usually more than one person who can maintain the organization's collateral, like reports. To share reports with other report authors in your organization, you create an ArcGIS group with update capabilities and share the reportswith the group. As report authors create new reports, they share the reportswith the group so the other report authors in your organization have access.

Update capabilities are required to allow report authors to open each other's reports in Report Designer. The authors can modify the report or create a copy by saving it under a new name.

Authors who access a report via group sharing can modify all aspects of the report except the data source or query. Only the report's owner can change the data source and query.

Administrators of your ArcGIS organization are allowed to modify everything.

In ArcGIS, groups with update capabilities are closed to users outside the organization in which the group was created. This means that report authors must be members of your organization.

Follow these guidelines when you configure sharing among report authors:

For more information on creating groups, refer to the Esri documentation for the version of ArcGIS you are using: Portal for ArcGIS 10.6, Portal for ArcGIS 10.5, or ArcGIS Online.

Open a Shared Report

Just as you can share your reports with other report authors, other report authors can share their reports with you. Report Designer's File menu has a Shared With Me option that lists the reports authored by someone in your organization that are shared with the organization or a group that you belong to.

To open a shared report:

  1. In Report Designer, click File in the sidebar.

  2. Click Shared with me.

  3. Double-click the report or select the report and click Open.

    If you know the report's title or part of the title, you can search for the report.

© 2019 Latitude Geographics Group Ltd. All Rights Reserved.

Documentation Version 5.2