Share Print Templates

Sharing print templates allows other people to access the templates. There are two levels of sharing:

Allow End Users to Run Prints

To allow an end user to run a print, you must share both the host application and the print template with the user. In some Web AppBuilder in Portal for ArcGIS scenarios, you must also share the Geocortex Printing widget that runs the print.

Sharing a print template and its host application with Everyone (public) or Organization provides sufficient privileges to run the print. If you want to create an ArcGIS group for users who are allowed to run prints, creating the group using a Publisher or User account provides sufficient privileges. If you create the group using an Administrator account, make sure you set What items in the group can its members update? to Only their own items. For more information on creating groups, refer to the Esri documentation for the version of ArcGIS you use: Portal for ArcGIS 10.6, Portal for ArcGIS 10.5, or ArcGIS Online. For instructions on sharing ArcGIS items, see Share an ArcGIS Item.

This topic assumes that you have already created any groups you want and shared the host application with the desired set of users. You can now share the print item with all of the host application's users or a subset of the users.

The way that you allow users to run a print depends on the type of host application:

Share Print Templates Hosted by a Geocortex HTML5 Viewer

When you use a Geocortex HTML5 viewer to host a print template, the site that the viewer belongs to can be secured using Geocortex Essentials security. You use Geocortex Essentials security to manage access to the viewer.

Geocortex Essentials security controls which users see the print template in the viewer—it does not secure the template. The template is secured by ArcGIS security.

To allow users to run a print hosted by a Geocortex HTML5 viewer:

The steps that you take to allow users to run a print depend on whether the site is secured. Follow the steps that apply to you:

Share Print Templates Hosted by a Web AppBuilder in Portal for ArcGIS App

To allow users to run a print that is hosted by a Web AppBuilder in Portal for ArcGIS app, you must share the host app and the print template with the users. In one scenario, you must also share the widget that runs the print.

You share print templates and widgets the same way that you share apps—by sharing their ArcGIS items. The item is created by Geocortex Printing the first time you save the print template. The widget item is created when you register the widget.

To allow users to run a print template hosted by a Web AppBuilder in Portal for ArcGIS app:

The steps that you take to allow users to run a print depend on whether the host app is secured. Follow the instructions that apply to you:

Share Print Templates Hosted by a Web AppBuilder (Developer Edition) App

When you use a Web AppBuilder (Developer Edition) app to host a print template, the host app is deployed to your website. You use the website's security to manage access to the app.

In this scenario, the widget is installed in Web AppBuilder. There is no widget item in ArcGIS. Any user who has access to the app also has access to the widget.

To allow users to run a print hosted by a Web AppBuilder (Developer Edition) app:

The steps that you take to allow users to run a print depend on whether the host app is secured. Follow the instructions that apply to you:

Share an ArcGIS Item

To share an ArcGIS item:

  1. Sign in to your ArcGIS account, open your content, and then click the item's title to open the item.

    You can open a print item from Print Designer. Click Info to open the print template's Info panel and then click the View link.

  2. Click Share.

    Share an ArcGIS item

  3. Select the checkboxes for the users that you want to share the item with.

  4. Click OK.

Allow Authors to Modify Print Templates

Within an organization, there is usually more than one person who can maintain the organization's collateral, like print templates. To share print templates with other print authors in your organization, you create an ArcGIS group with update capabilities and share the print templates with the group. As print authors create new print templates, they share the templates with the group so the other print authors in your organization have access.

Update capabilities are required to allow print authors to open each other's print templates in Print Designer. The authors can modify the print template or create a copy by saving it under a new name.

Administrators of your ArcGIS organization are allowed to modify everything.

In ArcGIS, groups with update capabilities are closed to users outside the organization in which the group was created. This means that print authors must be members of your organization.

Follow these guidelines when you configure sharing among print authors:

For more information on creating groups, refer to the Esri documentation for the version of ArcGIS you use: Portal for ArcGIS 10.6, Portal for ArcGIS 10.5, or ArcGIS Online.

Open a Shared Print Template

Just as you can share your print templates with other print authors, other print authors can share their print templates with you. Print Designer's File menu has a Shared With Me option that lists the print templates authored by someone in your organization that are shared with the organization or a group that you belong to.

To open a shared print template:

  1. In Print Designer, click File in the sidebar.

  2. Click Shared with me.

  3. Double-click the print template or select the print template and click Open.

    If you know the print template's title or part of the title, you can search for the print template.

© 2019 Latitude Geographics Group Ltd. All Rights Reserved.

Documentation Version 5.0