Relationships

A relationship represents a link between features of a layer and features or records in another layer or table. ArcGIS Server services can expose the relationships defined by relationship classes in a geodatabase. Viewers display the related data in feature details and map tips.

Starting in Essentials 4.5, you can add ArcGIS tables to a site's map.

When you add a layer to your site, all of the layer’s relationships (as defined in ArcGIS Server) are exposed through the Essentials REST API. If you wish to customize a given relationship (for example, you may want to change its visibility), you can add the relationship to your site configuration and edit the relationship's properties through Manager.

You can choose to show a layer's relationships by default. After selecting a layer's Edit icon , navigate to the Relationships tab and select the Show Relationships by Default checkbox. When this checkbox is selected, any relationships of this layer that have not been explicitly configured are displayed to the end user.

All of the relationships of your layers are exposed through the REST API whether or not you add them to the site configuration through Manager.

Relationships have the following settings:

When adding layers and/or tables as a relationship to a site, all of the layers and tables within the relationship need to be added. In addition, permissions for a user needs to be set so that they have access to all of the layers and tables in the relationship, or that they have no access to the layers and tables. Otherwise, permissions are not honored for the user.

Add or Remove Relationships

To add or remove relationships:

  1. In Manager, click Map in the side panel, click the Map Services tab, expand the map service that the layer belongs to, and then click the Edit icon next to the layer.

  2. Click the Relationships tab, and then click Add/Remove Relationships.

  3. To add a relationship to your site, select the relationship in the Excluded Relationships column, and then click the « button.

    To select multiple relationships, hold the Ctrl key down while selecting relationships.

  4. To remove a relationship from a site, select the relationship in the Included Relationships column, and then click the » button.

  5. Click OK.

  6. Click Save Site.

To reorder list items, click and drag the  Sort handle Click and drag to change the order.

Edit Relationships

You can change the display name and visibility of a relationship.

To edit a relationship:

  1. In Manager, click Map in the side panel, click the Map Services tab, expand the map service that the layer belongs to, and then click the Edit icon next to the layer.

  2. Click the Relationships tab.

  3. Click the Edit Relationship icon beside the relationship that you want to edit.

  4. Modify the Display Name and Visible properties of the relationship as desired.

  5. Click OK.

© 2019 Latitude Geographics Group Ltd. All Rights Reserved.

Documentation Version 4.11