Configure Layers

Ways to Configure a Layer's Settings

Manager offers several ways to configure a layer's settings:

The different places in Manager where you can change settings are synchronized. If you change a setting in one place, it is automatically changed everywhere else that you can change it.

Edit a Layer

To edit a layer:

  1. In Manager, edit the site that you want to configure.

  2. Click Map in the side panel.

  3. Click the Map Services tab.

    If the layer is in the Layer List, you can also edit the layer from the Layer List tab.

  4. Click the Expand icon beside the map service that the layer belongs to.

    The map service's layers show.

  5. Locate the layer that you want to configure and click the Edit icon beside the layer.

    Make sure you are editing a layer, not a map service. The tool tip should say Edit Layer.

    Edit Layer icon for the Airports layer

    The layer opens for editing.

    Layer settings are organized into tabs. The specific tabs and settings depend on the type of layer.

Use the Layer's Drop-Down Menu

To change the settings for a single layer using the layer's drop-down menu:

  1. In Manager, edit the site that you want to configure, click Map in the side panel, and then click the Map Services tab.

    If the layer is in the Layer List, you can also use the layer's drop-down menu on the Layer List tab.

  2. Position the pointer over the layer that you want to configure.

    The management tools show.

  3. Click the down arrow .

    The menu opens.

    Settings for the Airports layer

  4. Select or clear the checkbox beside the setting that you want to configure.

    If the setting that you want to configure is not in the menu, you must edit the layer to configure that setting.

  5. Repeat these steps to configure as many of the settings as you want.

  6. Click Apply Changes.

Batch Edit a Layer's Settings

Batch editing enables you to configure settings for all the layers in a map service or folder at one time.

Batch Edit the Settings for All the Layers in a Map Service

Batch editing overwrites the existing configuration for every layer in the folder or service. The only way to restore the previous configuration after you click Apply Changes is to individually reconfigure each setting in each layer.

To batch edit the settings for all the layers in a map service:

  1. In Manager, edit the site that you want to configure, click Map in the side panel, and then click the Map Services tab.

  2. Position the pointer over the map service whose layers you want to configure.

    The management tools show.

  3. Click the down arrow .

    The menu opens.

    Common settings for all the layers in the Dynamic map service

    A selected checkbox means that the setting is enabled for all the layers in the map service.

    A cleared checkbox means that the setting is disabled for all the layers.

    If the setting is enabled for some layers and disabled for others, the checkbox looks like this: .

  4. Select or clear the checkbox beside the setting that you want to configure.

  5. Repeat these steps to configure as many of the settings as you want.

  6. Click Apply Changes.

Batch Edit the Settings for All the Layers in a Folder

Batch editing overwrites the existing configuration for every layer in the folder or service. The only way to restore the previous configuration after you click Apply Changes is to individually reconfigure each setting in each layer.

To batch edit the settings for all the layers in a folder:

Batch editing applies to all the layers in the folder, regardless of how deeply nested the layers are.

  1. In Manager, edit the site that you want to configure, click Map in the side panel, and then click the Layer List tab.

  2. Position the pointer over the folder whose layers you want to configure.

    The management tools show.

  3. Click the down arrow .

    The menu opens.

    Common settings for all the layers in the Operational Layers folder

    A selected checkbox means that the setting is enabled for all the layers in the map service.

    A cleared checkbox means that the setting is disabled for all the layers.

    If the setting is enabled for some layers and disabled for others, the checkbox looks like this: .

  4. Select or clear the checkbox beside the setting that you want to configure.

  5. Repeat these steps to configure as many of the settings as you want.

  6. Click Apply Changes.

Layer Settings

To configure layer settings, use one of the methods described in Ways to Configure a Layer's Settings.

Layer settings are organized into tabs. The specific tabs that are available for a layer depend on the type of layer. To find out about the settings on a particular tab, click the tab's link in the list below. You can also configure the settings for group layers.

The layer tabs are:

Details Tab for Layers

The specific settings that appear depend on the type of layer.

Layers have the following settings on the Details tab:

Settings for Group Layers

The settings described below apply to the group layer only, not its sublayers. The settings for sublayers are the same as for other layers.

Group layers have the following settings:

Configure a Layer's Default Visibility

A layer's visibility setting controls whether the layer is initially turned on in the Layer List when the end user launches a viewer. A layer must be turned on in the Layer List for the user to be able to see the layer on the map. The layer only shows on the map if it is visible at the initial extent's zoom level. The user may have to zoom the map in or out to see the layer's features.

If you include a layer in the Layer List, the end user can change the layer's visibility. See Configure the Layer List for instructions.

To configure a layer's default visibility:

  1. In Manager, edit the site that you want to configure, click Map in the side panel, and then click the Map Services tab.

    You cannot change the default visibility of group layers on the Map Services tab. Instead, click the Layer List tab and set the default visibility for the group layer's folder. You can set the default visibility for the group layer's sublayers on either tab.

    For layers other than group layers, if the layer is included in the Layer List, you can also configure the layer's visibility on the Layer List tab, or you can edit the layer and set the Visible setting on the Details tab. When you change the visibility in one place, the change is reflected in the other places.

  2. Configure the visibility:

    Set the initial visibility for the Airports layer

  3. Click Apply Changes.

See Also...

Exclude Layers from a Dynamic Map Service

© 2019 Latitude Geographics Group Ltd. All Rights Reserved.

Documentation Version 4.11