Geocortex Analytics Upgrading

Upgrade Overview

Please read the Unclustering section before you start any of the upgrade procedures.

If your environment operates behind a proxy, you need to create a Windows user account with the forward proxy server settings before you upgrade to Geocortex Analytics 1.3.x. See Use a Forward Proxy Server with Analytics for more information.

The process of upgrading to Analytics 1.4.x differs depending on the version of Analytics that you are upgrading from.

Overview: Upgrade from Analytics 1.3.x to 1.4.x

If you are upgrading from Analytics 1.3.x, the process is:

For step-by-step instructions, see Upgrade Analytics 1.3.x to 1.4

Overview: Upgrade from Analytics 1.2.x to 1.4.x

If you are upgrading from Analytics 1.2.x, the process is:

For step-by-step instructions, see Upgrade Analytics from 1.2.x to 1.3.x

Overview: Upgrade from Analytics 1.1.x to 1.4.x

If you are upgrading from Analytics 1.1.x the process is:

For step-by-step instructions, see Upgrade from Analytics 1.1.x to 1.3.x

Overview: Upgrade from Analytics 1.0.x to 1.4.x

If you are upgrading from Analytics 1.0.x the process is:

For step-by-step instructions, see Upgrade from Insight (Analytics) 1.0.x to 1.3.x.

What Happens to Custom Files During an Upgrade?

When you to upgrade Analytics, it installs the same components in the same location as the existing installation.

The names of the folders that contain the new installation are updated with the new version number, for example, 1.3 to 1.4.x.

Because configuration is no longer done in the role.config files, during the 1.4.x upgrade, any customized configuration found in the role.config files is transitioned automatically to new configuration database tables.

Be sure to close any manually configured files before you begin updating Analytics or the installer cannot save them.

The one exception to the automatic transfer of custom configuration in the role.config files, is the Enabled setting for premium Esri services for ArcGIS Online or Portal for ArcGIS. This setting is disabled during the upgrade and must be manually enabled again in Configuration after the upgrade. The purpose of disabling this setting is to ensure that Analytics is not collecting on premium services without users being aware of it, as that can cost credits.

Analytics Analytics can collect information about Esri premium services like demographics.arcgis.com.

To enable Esri premium services after the Analytics 1.4.x upgrade:

  1. Open Analytics and click Configuration.
  2. In the resources sidebar, expand Portals and select the specific Portal for ArcGIS or ArcGIS Online instance where your Esri services are located.
  3. Scroll down until you find the service you want to enable.
  4. Click the Enabled column to activate the service.

 

© 2018 Latitude Geographics Group Ltd. All Rights Reserved.

Documentation Version 1.4