System Settings

System settings take effect globally throughout Analytics, for example, you can set time periods when you want Analytics to stop collecting data. Email and text settings are also configured in the System settings because all the alarms in Analytics use the same email and SMS accounts to send notifications when an alarm is triggered.

The System settings are grouped on the following tabs:

Configure Global System Settings

When you set Global System settings, they affect all the resources that Analytics monitors, for example, you

Global settings can be found in Configuration | System | Global Settings tab.

You set up any of the following: 

Configure Alarm Recipients

Alarm recipients can be added in Configuration | System | Alarm Recipients tab.

You add the names, email addresses, and phone numbers of the people you want to receive notifications from Analytics. You can select whether the recipient receives all notification about all the Resources monitored by Analytics. Alternatively, once you have created a list of recipients, under each monitored resource, you can select particular recipients to receive alarms from specific resources.

To add an Alarm Recipient:

  1. In Configuration, under System | Alarm Recipients tab, click Add New Recipient.

  2. In the Add New Recipient window:

  3. Click Save.

Configure Email Settings

For Analytics to send email notifications, you need to set up an email client that Analytics can use to send emails automatically to the list of alarm recipients that you configure.

Add an Email host in Configuration | System | Email Settings tab.

You can define the following Email Settings:

Configure SMS Settings

If you wish to receive a text message when an alarm triggers in Analytics, then you need to create a Twilio account for Analytics to use to automatically send SMS messages when an alarm triggers. All text messages to alarm recipients are then routed through the same Twilio account.

Add an Twilio account host in Configuration | System | SMS Settings tab.

You can define the following SMS Settings:

Purge Data

You can purge older data to free up space on your server.

You can only purge data that is older than two months. When you select a month, all the data prior to that month and during that month is purged.

Purging data is permanent. Once purged, the data cannot be retrieved.

To purge Data:

  1. Under Configuration, in the sidebar, click System.

  2. Select the Purge Data tab.

  3. From the Purge All Data Collected Prior To and During drop-down list, select a month.

    Beside each month, the brackets indicate the estimated space that you will free by purging that data.

  4. Click Purge.

Manage User Data and Privacy

Analytics tracks and collects information about how users interact with the resources that it monitors, for example, Geocortex and Esri applications. The objective of tracking user data is to establish usage patterns that can inform decisions about how to improve users' experience.

Privacy regulations in some regions indicate that if you collect user data, you must be able to retrieve and delete that data on request.

On the User Data tab in Configuration, you can search for a user's collected data by their full or partial user name or IP address. You can export the data if required, or purge the data to strip it of any identifying information. Analytics keeps the purged user data and uses the retained information for statistics about the user's activities in various applications but the data is anonymous.

To find and purge user data:

  1. Under Configuration, in the sidebar, click System.

  2. Select the User Data tab.

  3. In the Search by Name or IP Address box, type in a full or partial user name or IP address.

    If you type in a partial name or address, all matching users or addresses will be listed.

  4. Click Search.

    If the user was authenticated on sign-in to an application or resource that is monitored by Analytics, their user name and ID are listed in the results. If the user did not sign in, only their IP address is listed.

  5. To export a user's data because it has been requested, click Export.
  6. To strip a user's data of any identifying information, click Purge.

© 2019 Latitude Geographics Group Ltd. All Rights Reserved.

Documentation Version 1.5